News & Events

North American Indigenous Games Council Executive Committee

May 28, 2012

NAIG Council members, partners and supporters,

The North American Indigenous Games Council held its semi-annual Board of Directors meeting in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada May 24-26, 2012 to discuss a number of business and governance matters related to the Council and the Games.

Due to professional obligations of both the President and Vice-President, both had formally stepped down from their executive positions. A special general assembly was called and by-elections were held to fill those vacancies.

On behalf of the North American Indigenous Games Council it is my pleasure to announce that Mr. Dave Canadian, Region 6 (Eastern Door and the North), Canada has been elected President and Mr. Harold Joseph, Region 1 (Washington), USA has been elected Vice-President.

Mr. Mike Sutherland, Region 4 (Manitoba), Canada and Ms. Angela Soulor, Region 9 (Connecticut), USA continue their roles as Treasurer and Secretary respectively.

The Executive Committee is elected on a three year term. The President and Vice President positions must be one Canadian and one American. The president must be elected from the country of the next NAIG host (2014, Regina, Saskatchewan). The Treasurer and Secretary positions must be held by one American and one Canadian.

Mr. Canadian and Mr. Joseph expressed gratitude and humility to the Council members who have nominated and voted for them. Both have been dedicated members of the NAIG Council for many years and committed supporters of the NAIG Movement in their respective territories. They expressed a renewed dedication to the Movement in light of these new roles and will serve the Council as best as they can during their terms.

If there are any questions, please contact

Norman Ettawacappo, Coordinator
North American Indigenous Games Council
Toll Free: 1-800-453-7239

Read More News

Unite Interactive